top of page
Search
  • Katie Worthen

Guelph at the Dawn of a New Millenia

I am a born and raised Guelphite. I spent my first 18 years exploring the city, and by the time I moved away for university, I was sick of it. After I left, I never missed Guelph itself, just the family and friends that still lived there. As I get older though and life takes me farther away, I have come to appreciate where I grew up and the memories I have made there. The Guelph Civic Museum’s exhibit “Guelph Circa 1999” flaunts the places and faces that have been the backbone of the city for generations. This exhibit does a great job displaying the core of Guelph’s identity and the people behind it at the turn of the century. It showcases 16 influential people and the mark they have left on the city.


From a picture of tattooist and piercer Mark McAlpine on his bicycle, to Diego Hadarits, the owner and founder of Dimar Shoe Repair cobbling in his shop, the photographer has captured not just the person but their passions.


Alongside photographs are objects from those who are featured, transporting you back to a time of VHS tapes, CDs and the advent of Sunday shopping. There are also videos and recorded interviews of some of the featured locals, sharing their knowledge and passions.

Perhaps the best element is a piano with a sign saying “Make Music” (visit https://www.guelphtoday.com/local-news/happy-making-pianos-return-to-downtown-guelph-next-week-1664467 for information on the Happy Making Piano project). Complete with a bottle of hand sanitizer, it sits in the corner of the exhibit, inviting visitors to play a tune.

Overall, this exhibit creates a wonderfully nostalgic atmosphere. It’s a small exhibit with variances in media and the right amount of information so visitors leave feeling rejuvenated and prideful of the place they call home. The room is bright, with objects on full display in the centre of the room. That being said, the exhibit is lacking in accessibility. While seemingly accessible physically, there are no subtitles on the videos or audio options for the written text, limiting who can have a rounded experience.



I walked away from this exhibit having learned so much about the people that helped make Guelph what it is today. Everyone featured had been so involved in bettering the city through education, arts, culture and politics. It was inspiring. These people, from little ol’ Guelph, were giving Ted talks, creating incredible art, and founding award-winning festivals. There is something wonderful about looking back on Guelph 20 years ago and knowing that many of my memories were made in the same places as my parents and grandparents. “Guelph Circa 1999” is a snapshot of the city’s history that continues to thrive today.

Kommentare


bottom of page